American Assassin

Currently finally reading American Assassin, the first of the Mitch Rapp series, by Vince Flynn, and I have to agree with everyone that it’s an amazing book! I can’t wait to go watch the movie as soon as I finish. And I’ll definitely be reading the next books in the series…

For anyone who hasn’t read the book, here’s a sneak peak…

Mitch Rapp is a gifted college athlete who just wants retribution for the Pan Am Lockerbie attack. He trains six months intensely with other clandestine operatives, under CIA Operations Director Thomas Stansfield and protégé Irene Kennedy, to stop terrorists before they reach America. The assassin leaves a trail of bodies from Istanbul across Europe to Beirut, where he needs every ounce of skill and cunning to survive the war-ravaged city and its deadly terrorist factions.

Goodreads

Never Drop Your Guard…

Currently reading Never Die Alone by Lisa Jackson and I cannot put it down!

Never Drop Your Guard

It should be the best day of their lives. Too bad they never get to see it. On the cusp of their twenty-first birthday, he strikes. His victims are always twins, their ritualistic murders planned in exquisite detail, down to the moment when they breathe their last together. . .

Never Close Your Eyes

An innocent man is in prison, and Brianna Hayward needs to convince the New Orleans police. Not just to free her cousin, but to save others who will suffer until the true culprit is found. Reporter Jason Bridges is intrigued. It’s a story that could make his career–as long as Brianna never guesses the secret in Jason’s past. . .

. . .Or You’ll Never See Him Coming

Detective Rick Bentz had doubts about the “21” conviction when he worked the case in L.A. Now the real murderer may be loose in Bentz’s backyard. Twin sisters from LSU have vanished, days before their birthday. And as Bentz and his partner, Reuben Montoya, desperately follow the trail, a killer prepares to unite his next victims in death forever. . .

Goodreads

Sting by Sandra Brown

I have just finished reading Sting by Sandra Brown. I think I may just have found a new favourite author. Absolutely loved the book!

When Jordie Bennet and Shaw Kinnard lock eyes across a disreputable backwater bar, something definitely sparks. Shaw gives off a dangerous vibe that makes men wary and inspires women to sit up and take notice. None feel that undercurrent more strongly than savvy businesswoman Jordie, who doesn’t belong in a seedy dive on the banks of a bayou. But here she is . . . and Shaw Kinnard is here to kill her.

As Shaw and his partner take aim, Jordie is certain her time has come. But Shaw has other plans and abducts Jordie, hoping to get his hands on the $30 million her brother has stolen and, presumably, hidden. However, Shaw is not the only one looking for the fortune. Her brother’s ruthless boss and the FBI are after it as well. Now on the run from the feds and a notorious criminal, Jordie and Shaw must rely on their wits-and each other-to stay alive.

Miles away from civilization and surrounded by swampland, the two play each other against their common enemies. Jordie’s only chance of survival is to outwit Shaw, but it soon becomes clear to Shaw that Jordie isn’t entirely trustworthy, either. Was she in on her brother’s scam, or is she an innocent pawn in a deadly vendetta? And just how valuable is her life to Shaw, her remorseless and manipulative captor? Burning for answers-and for each other-this unlikely pair ultimately make a desperate move that could be their last.

Goodreads

Orphan X by Gregg Hurwitz

I recently finished reading this book and I absolutely loved it! I will definitely be ordering the second book soon. I’m so glad I picked this up at the bookstore a few weeks ago – it has been an intriguing and thrilling read, and I guarantee you I will be reading Hurwitz’s books in the future!

‘Do you need my help?’
It was the first question he asked.
They called him when they had nowhere else to turn.

As a boy Evan Smoak was taken from an orphanage.
Raised and trained in a top secret programme, he was sent to bad places to do things the government denied ever happened.

Then he broke with the programme, using what he’d learned to vanish. Now he helps the desperate and deserving.

But someone’s on his trail.

Someone who knows his past and believes that the boy once known as Orphan X must die . . .

Goodreads

Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

I just finished reading this and I absolutely love26127588d it! I could barely stop to catch a breath – I just simply had to keep reading, had to know the ending.

If you haven’t done so already, please check it out! Here’s a summary of the book:

Sisters. Strangers. Survivors.

More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia’s teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that’s cruelly ripped open when Claire’s husband is killed.

The disappearance of a teenage girl and the murder of a middle-aged man, almost a quarter-century apart: what could connect them? Forming a wary truce, the surviving sisters look to the past to find the truth, unearthing the secrets that destroyed their family all those years ago . . . and uncovering the possibility of redemption, and revenge, where they least expect it.

Powerful, poignant, and utterly gripping, packed with indelible characters and unforgettable twists, Pretty Girls is a masterful thriller from one of the finest suspense writers working today.

Goodreads

 

Someone Is Watching by Joy Fielding

Such a page turner! I was so gripped right from the start, I almost finished it in one reading. I hope you enjoy this thrilling suspense novel! It’s a must for fans of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag and Lisa Jackson.22694047

As a special investigator for a hotshot Miami law firm, Bailey Carpenter is smart, savvy, and fearless. When she’s assigned to spy on a deadbeat dad in the middle of the night, Bailey thinks nothing of the potential dangers, only that she needs to gather evidence. Then she is blindsided—attacked and nearly killed.

Now the firm grip Bailey once had on her life is shaken. Her nightmares merge into her waking hours and she’s unable to venture beyond her front door without panicking. A veritable prisoner in her own home, Bailey is uncertain whom she can trust. But old habits die hard, and soon Bailey finds a new use for her idle binoculars: casually observing from her window neighboring buildings and other people’s lives. This seemingly harmless diversion becomes a guilty pleasure when Bailey fixates on the handsome guy across the street—until she realizes that he is also watching her. Suddenly she must confront the terrifying possibility that he may be the man who shattered her life.

Though crippled by fear, Bailey knows she can’t ignore her suspicions and risk leaving a predator at large. With the police making no headway in solving her case, she’s determined to overcome her terror and reclaim the power she lost by unmasking her attacker and taking him down herself. But it’s a harrowing battle that threatens to wreck Bailey’s credibility, compromise an investigation, and maybe even claim her sanity.

Summary from Goodreads

The October List by Jeffery Deaver

Wow!

A thriller novel written in reverse: Reading this, I was initially sceptical on how this could be done. How can you keep the plot twists and intrigues that are so important to thrillers, if you begin by revealing the end?

I was curious to find out, and I have to say I fell in love with this book.

Knowing only what was going on in the present, but without the how and why, was intriguing, and going further back in time chapter by chapter created new plot twists.

When I had almost reached the end (or beginning in this case), I couldn’t imagine how Jeffery Deaver could possibly pull this off to tie up all those loose ends. But he did. He tied up all the loose points with a massive plot twist, creating an amazing story that was very well thought through.

This novel ranks among the 6 out of 5 star books and I 100% would recommend it to anyone!

-Fia

Right Behind You by Lisa Gardner

29758010The new Lisa Gardner novel, Right Behind You, is out since the 31st of January! I am so excited and can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

Is he a hero?

Eight years ago, Sharlah May Nash’s older brother beat their drunken father to death with a baseball bat in order to save both of their lives. Now thirteen years old, Sharlah has finally moved on. About to be adopted by retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his partner, Rainie Conner, Sharlah loves one thing best about her new family: They are all experts on monsters.

Is he a killer?

Then the call comes in. A double murder at a local gas station, followed by reports of an armed suspect shooting his way through the wilds of Oregon. As Quincy and Rainie race to assist, they are forced to confront mounting evidence: The shooter may very well be Sharlah’s older brother, Telly Ray Nash, and it appears his killing spree has only just begun.

All she knows for sure: He’s back.

As the clock winds down on a massive hunt for Telly, Quincy and Rainie must answer two critical questions: Why after eight years has this young man started killing again? And what does this mean for Sharlah? Once upon a time, Sharlah’s big brother saved her life. Now, she has two questions of her own: Is her brother a hero or a killer? And how much will it cost her new family before they learn the final, shattering truth? Because as Sharlah knows all too well, the biggest danger is the one standing right behind you.

I have finally finished reading the first book in Iris Johansen’s Eve Duncan series, called The Face of Deception, and it’s amazing! I highly highly recommend this book if you’re a fan of reading thrillers.758941

Here’s a quick summary if you’re wondering what the book is about (taken from Goodreads):

An unidentified skull…
A trail of terrifying secrets…
And a woman whose talented hands could reveal the shocking truth…
As a forensic sculptor, Eve Duncan helps identify the dead from their skulls. Her own daughter murdered and her body never found, the job is Eve’s way of coming to terms with her personal nightmare. But more terror lies ahead when she accepts work from billionaire John Logan. Beneath her gifted hands a face emerges from the skull he has given her to reconstruct– a face no one was ever meant to see. Now Eve is trapped in a frightening web of murder and deceit. Powerful enemies are determined to cover up the truth, and they will make certain that truth goes to the grave…even if Eve gets buried with it.

Happy reading, everyone!

-Fia